Tory MPs who have submitted no confidence letters in Boris Johnson – full list

Boris Johnson is in 'real trouble' says William Hague

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Under Tory party rules, a vote of confidence in the leader must be held if 15 percent of MPs submit letters to the chairman of the backbench 1922 committee calling for one. It means Mr Johnson will face a vote on his leadership if 54 of his colleagues send in letters to Sir Graham Brady, who has headed up the committee since 2020. He also previously held the position from 2010 to 2019.

Up to 30 Conservative parliamentarians have criticised the Prime Minister in the wake of the Sue Gray report into illegal lockdown gatherings in Downing Street. But many have stopped short of confirming if they have submitted a no confidence letter.

Leading Brexiteer and former loyalist Dame Andrea Leadsom today attacked Mr Johnson for his “unacceptable failings of leadership”.

However, she failed to confirm if she had sent in a letter, simply saying: “Each of my Conservative colleagues and I must now decide individually on what is the right course of action that will restore confidence in our Government.”

Letters are anonymous meaning it is impossible to tell exactly how many Tory MPs have written to Sir Graham. The Daily Express has compiled the definitive list of those who have gone public about putting in a letter.

Tory MPs known to have formally submitted a request for a vote of confidence in Boris Johnson

Peter Aldous, MP for Waveney

Aaron Bell, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme

Andrew Bridgen, MP for North-West Leicestershire

Elliot Colburn, MP for Carshalton and Wallington

Tobias Ellwood, MP for Bournemouth East

Sir Roger Gale, MP for Thanet

Stephen Hammond, MP for Wimbledon

Mark Harper, MP for Forest of Dean

Alicia Kearns, MP for Rutland and Melton

Anthony Mangnall, MP for Totnes

Nigel Mills, MP for Amber Valley

Sir Bob Neill, MP for Bromley and Chislehurst

Caroline Nokes, MP for Romsey and Southampton North

John Stevenson, MP for Carlisle

Sir Gary Streeter, MP for South Devon

Source: Read Full Article